Just give that kid a bottle

21 Jun

When I found out I was pregnant for our first daughter 2 years ago, I knew right away that I wanted to exclusively breastfeed her.  My mom didn’t breastfeed me or my siblings due to pressure from my dad and other relatives to “just give that kid a bottle already”.  I took a breastfeeding course and was determined not to let anyone deter me from feeding my baby the best way I knew how.  After my daughter was born she latched on great and I was able to demand feed her with no problem.  When my father would come over he would inevitably say every time “you’re nursing again! Why don’t you just give that kid a bottle so she’ll be satisfied”.  My response was always the same, “dad, formula is the F word in this house and we don’t use it or say it”.  He’d laugh and I’d laugh, but we both knew it was a point of contention.  My daughter was at least 4 or 5 months old before those comments finally stopped.  I’m proud to say that I nursed my first daughter for 13 months and now that my second daughter is here, not once has my dad asked me about giving her a bottle!

A personal story by Kim Shirk

Leave a Reply

